About Us

MOXIE produces primarily new plays by female playwrights, which defy the sterotype of what it means to be feminine. MOXIE is a 501c3 non-profit organization. Show us your MOXIE and become a supporter!


Looking for something ?



MOXIE Theatre is a professional non-profit theatre founded by the critically acclaimed group of performers and directors; Jo Anne Glover, Liv Kellgren, Delicia Turner Sonnenberg and Jennifer Eve Thorn in 2005. MOXIE's mission is to create more diverse and honest images of women for our culture using the art of theatre. Through the production of primarily female playwrights and the special attention given to plays which defy the stereotypes of what women are writing about, MOXIE expands the idea of what is feminine. Our dedication to finding work that is underproduced means we're discovering the classics of the future.



MOXIE fans know that each distinct MOXIE production will always share one similar quality – moxie. Moxie is defined as “courage, pluck, gumption, perseverance, guts." It may be the hero of a play who embodies the term moxie, or a challenging subject matter. Perhaps a playwright has invented an original world for audiences to explore, or actors are asked to stretch to new heights and break new ground in story-telling. In whatever way it is revealed, moxie is the unifying quality that defines all of our productions.


Delicia Turner Sonnenberg, Executive Artistic Director
Jennifer Eve Thorn, Associate Artistic Director
Jo Anne Glover, Development Director
Lisel Gorell-Getz, Director of Education
Missy Bradstreet, Production Manager
Nicole Ries, Assoc. Production Manager
Jennifer Brawn Gittings, Design Ambassador
Elaine Gingery, Business Administrator
Jennifer Berry, Casting Director/Box Office
Nora Kessler, Box Office Manager
Roseann McPhaul, Volunteer Manager
Martina Nelson, House Manager


MOXIE Board of Directors

Joann Clark, President
Vivienne Esrig, Treasurer
Mayra L. Garcia, Secretary
Jamie Fox
Ray King
Candi Freed

Advisory Board

Sheri Kraus
Mark Christopher Lawrence
Greg Libby

MOXIE Devo Divas

Kelley Dukat, Chair
Jennifer Brawn Gittings
Jenni Villa Bethell