The 2019 MOXIE Awards

The 3rd Annual MOXIE Awards Gala & Fundraiser

Honoring San Diego Women with Grit and Determination

Sunday, MAY 19, 2019

from 6 to 9 pm

Lafayette Hotel

Mississippi Ballroom
2223 El Cajon Blvd
San Diego, CA 92104

Every year MOXIE Theatre honors 10 extraordinary women with grit and determination – with moxie! – who are transforming the San Diego community and inspiring future generations through their accomplishments and leadership.
MOXIES Honorees are women working in all field, who consistently demonstrate vision, initiative, creativity, and guidance within their profession or avocation. They lead fearlessly with a sense of purpose and vision. They are a voice and advocate for other women. They bring excellence to their organizations and the community. 

Nominations are now open for the 2020 MOXIES Award Gala & Fundraiser!

Is there a woman in your life who deserves a MOXIE Award? Let us know! Nominations are open until Feb 16 and anyone in the community is encouraged to submit candidates. Tell us about women who are champions for other women, who are leaders for diversity and inclusion, who are overall RAD… WE WANT TO KNOW THEM!

All nominations will be considered and an independent committee will choose the 10 honorees. Attendance to the MOXIES Awards Gala on May 17, 2020 is a requirement for honorees.

Don’t wait! LAST DAY to nominate is Sunday, February 16th.

Sponsor the 2020 MOXIES Awards

Sponsorship opportunities available. Join the many generous Organizations and Individuals who support The Annual MOXIES Award Gala and Fundraiser!

Meet the 2019 MOXIES Honorees

MOXIE Theatre is proud to recognize the Class of 2019 MOXIES Honorees!

Previous MOXIE Honorees: State Sen. Toni Atkins  California State Senator District 39, Evelyn Diaz Cruz Professor Department of Theatre USD,  Laura Fink Co-founder Run Women Run, Kristin Gist  Senior Director of Developmental Services, Rady Children’s Hospital-San Diego, Leah Goodwin Director of Museum and Education, California Center for the Arts, Escondido, Merryl Goldberg Director ART=OPPORTUNITY, Sabrina Martucci Johnson Founder/CEO DARÉ Bioscience, Dr. Rev. Beth A. Johnson Palomar Unitarian Universalist Fellowship, Elizabeth Lou Founder Nile Sisters Development Initiative, Sarah Dolgen Shaftel Lead Organizer, San Diego’s Women’s March, Martha Barnette Co-host of Public Radio’s “A Way With Words”, Anne S. Bautista Legal Program Director for Access, Inc. and Advocate for Immigrant Victim Rights, Alison Coil, PhD Creator of the Graduate Women in Physics Group and UCSD Professor & Observational Astrophysicist, Cat Corral Co-founder of TranscenDANCE, Winifred Cox Co-founder of Women Empowerment International, Council Pres. Georgette Gomez San Diego City Council President and Councilmember District 9, Anne Hoiberg San Diego Women’s Hall of Fame Activist, Lee Ann Kim Founder of San Diego Asian Film Festival & Pacific Arts Movement and former Channel 10 News Anchor, Ellen Montanari Community Activist and a Leader of FLIP THE 49TH! Neighbors in Action, and MaryAnne Pintar Chief of Staff to Congressman Scott Peters.

The 2019 MOXIES Gala

THANK YOU to all the guests who joined MOXIE Theatre at the Lafayette Hotel on May 19, 2019 to celebrate this amazing group of people!

The MOXIES 2019 Committee

Lee Ann Kim – Honorary Committee Chair for the 2019 MOXIES
As 2018 MOXIE Awards honoree, Lee Ann Kim is honored to return to The MOXIES as the Honorary Chair. Ms. Kim is an inductee of San Diego County’s Women’s Hall of Fame, a social entrepreneur and founder of the San Diego Asian Film Festival, which has grown into a year-round media arts organization, Pacific Arts Movement. She was awarded the 2010 KPBS Hero of the Month award, a 10News Leadership Award and named one of San Diego Magazine′s Top 50 People to Watch in 2009. The San Diego City Council declared Tuesday, April 19, 2016 “Lee Ann Kim Day” to honor her leadership of Pac-Arts. Ms. Kim also worked for 12 years as a news anchor and reporter for KGTV-10, San Diego’s ABC affiliate, and earned a regional Emmy for investigative reporting and California’s highest honor for educational reporting.

Committee Members:  Edith Benkov, Merryl Goldberg (2017 MOXIES Honoree), Sheri Kraus, Valentina Lunati, Deirdre Maloney, Debb Mattas,
Nicole Ries, Shannon Sweeney, Jan Carpenter Tucker.

The MOXIES 2019 Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor
MOXIE Medals Sponsor 
Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsors


Sheri & Jess Kraus
Ginger Hitzke, Hitzke Development
Sister Sponsors

Georgia Dutro
Leah Goodwin & Edward J. Spriggs
Jack & Judi Missett
Jeanette Rigopoulos
Solar Punk Collective
Shannon Sweeney