The MOXIES Annual Award Gala & Fundraiser

The MOXIES Annual Award Gala & Fundraiser

Honoring San Diego Women with Grit and Determination

THANK YOU to all the guests who joined MOXIE Theatre at the Lafayette Hotel on May 19, 2019 to celebrate the amazing Class of 2019 MOXIES!

Nominations are now open for the 2020 MOXIES Award Gala & Fundraiser!

The MOXIES 2019 Honorees

The MOXIES Honorees are women who are transforming their communities and inspiring future generations through their accomplishments and leadership. A MOXIE woman consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity, and guidance within her profession or avocation. She leads fearlessly with a sense of purpose, vision, and moxie. She is a voice and advocate for other women. She brings excellence to her organization and the community. MOXIE is proud to introduce the Class of 2019 Honorees!

You are still in time to join the generous Organizations and Individuals who already chose to support The 2019 MOXIES. Make a donation in honor of the MOXIES to support MOXIE Theatre’s upcoming 15th Anniversary Season.

The MOXIES 2019 Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor
MOXIE Medals Sponsor 
Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsors


Sheri & Jess Kraus
Ginger Hitzke, Hitzke Development


Sister Sponsors

Georgia Dutro
Leah Goodwin & Edward J. Spriggs
Jack & Judi Missett
Jeanette Rigopoulos
Solar Punk Collective
Shannon Sweeney



The MOXIES 2019 Committee

Lee Ann Kim – Honorary Committee Chair for the 2019 MOXIES
As 2018 MOXIE Awards honoree, Lee Ann Kim is honored to return to The MOXIES as the Honorary Chair. Ms. Kim is an inductee of San Diego County’s Women’s Hall of Fame, a social entrepreneur and founder of the San Diego Asian Film Festival, which has grown into a year-round media arts organization, Pacific Arts Movement. She was awarded the 2010 KPBS Hero of the Month award, a 10News Leadership Award and named one of San Diego Magazine′s Top 50 People to Watch in 2009. The San Diego City Council declared Tuesday, April 19, 2016 “Lee Ann Kim Day” to honor her leadership of Pac-Arts. Ms. Kim also worked for 12 years as a news anchor and reporter for KGTV-10, San Diego’s ABC affiliate, and earned a regional Emmy for investigative reporting and California’s highest honor for educational reporting.

Committee Members:  Edith Benkov, Merryl Goldberg (2017 MOXIES Honoree), Sheri Kraus, Valentina Lunati, Deirdre Maloney, Debb Mattas,
Nicole Ries, Shannon Sweeney, Jan Carpenter Tucker.

Previous MOXIE Honorees: State Sen. Toni Atkins  California State Senator District 39, Evelyn Diaz Cruz Professor Department of Theatre USD,  Laura Fink Co-founder Run Women Run, Kristin Gist  Senior Director of Developmental Services, Rady Children’s Hospital-San Diego, Leah Goodwin Director of Museum and Education, California Center for the Arts, Escondido, Merryl Goldberg Director ART=OPPORTUNITY, Sabrina Martucci Johnson Founder/CEO DARÉ Bioscience, Dr. Rev. Beth A. Johnson Palomar Unitarian Universalist Fellowship, Elizabeth Lou Founder Nile Sisters Development Initiative, Sarah Dolgen Shaftel Lead Organizer, San Diego’s Women’s March, Martha Barnette Co-host of Public Radio’s “A Way With Words”, Anne S. Bautista Legal Program Director for Access, Inc. and Advocate for Immigrant Victim Rights, Alison Coil, PhD Creator of the Graduate Women in Physics Group and UCSD Professor & Observational Astrophysicist, Cat Corral Co-founder of TranscenDANCE, Winifred Cox Co-founder of Women Empowerment International, Council Pres. Georgette Gomez San Diego City Council President and Councilmember District 9, Anne Hoiberg San Diego Women’s Hall of Fame Activist, Lee Ann Kim Founder of San Diego Asian Film Festival & Pacific Arts Movement and former Channel 10 News Anchor, Ellen Montanari Community Activist and a Leader of FLIP THE 49TH! Neighbors in Action, and MaryAnne Pintar Chief of Staff to Congressman Scott Peters.